Getting my groove back

I don’t have writers block. In fact, in the last three weeks I’ve been more writerly-productive than in the previous 6 months combined. What I’m finding, though, is I’ve got a major distaste for photography right now. I’m not even finding photos by my favourite artists interesting or worthy of much more than just a glance.

So I’m on a journey to refund my joy of the visual arts. 

I’ve forced myself to start using my 2 year old empty Instagram account, so I can begin seeing what others find beautiful and noteworthy in their daily lives – as to force me to do the same. 

I’ve also pulled out my college acrylics, which have now gone so thick and lumpy, they are behaving more like bad oils. I had one spare canvas in the house, just a small 6×6 and found an old tutorial I had pinned ages ago. 

This week I am also going to finally download all my vacation pictures from my camera and actually look at them. I’m going to find three, edit and then print them off. Maybe I need physical instances of art to really start appreciating it again.

I am also going to go to an art gallery opening this month, get up so close to some pieces that I can smell them and see the brushstrokes. I need to take someone with me who will force me to stop and look, who reads art differently than I do. 

If at the end of this month long art journey I still want to throw out my camera, then maybe it’s time just to tuck it into the very back of the closet.

   
 

Ironic that last week I wrote a story with very little visual description – my writers group even called me out on it.

About definitelynotapoet

View my work in Skirt Quarterly, Untethered, Vagabond Citylit, the Quilliad and Tracer Publishing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

