because I don’t feel like packing

My absolutely favourite feministy songs. Because why not. And because packing is scary.

Alanis. OF course. And always. but especially this – She takes back the right to her body.

“Like any uncharted territory
I must seem greatly intriguing
You speak of my love like
You have experienced love like mine before
But this is not allowed
You’re uninvited
An unfortunate slight”

Salt N’ Pepa. Of course. And always. Just one example of their awesomeness: Hot fem-power all up on anti-slut shaming before “slut-shaming” even was a phrase!

Bikini Kill’s Rebel Girl

“When she talks, I hear the revolution
In her hips, there’s revolutions
When she walks, the revolution’s coming
In her kiss, I taste the revolution!”

L7’s Fast and Frightening

“Her glance hits me like lightning
I heard that girl is fast and frightening
Dirty hair and a laugh that’s mean
Her neighbors call her an evil machine
She’s fast, she’s lean
She’s frightening
She’s fast, she’s lean
She’s frightening
Popping wheelies on her motorbike
Straight girls wish they were dykes
She’ll do anything on a dare
Mom and Daddy’s worst nightmare
Down at the creek smoking pot
She eats the roach so she don’t get caught
Throws her mini off in the halls
Got so much clit she don’t need no balls”

ALSO GRIMES. BECAUSE HOW DID I NOT KNOW. She’s like the Bjork of the now. Except she owns up to her feminism.

About definitelynotapoet

View my work in Skirt Quarterly, Untethered, Vagabond Citylit, the Quilliad and Tracer Publishing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to because I don’t feel like packing

  1. Laura M. says:

    Yes! Because a) you used the term “feministy” b) salt n’ peppa was my first tape that wasn’t stolen from my sister’s room and Alanis was my very very first CD, and c) now I know about Bikini Kill.

    • Road tripped to Salt N Pepa all the time, that is a tape I still have somewhere!

      I’m getting more into the Riot Grrl stuff, it’s an interesting genre I haven’t dug too deeply into but am interested, especially seeing what women in rock are doing these days.

Leave a Reply

